2022 Ipswich Sports Awards finalists named

06 October 2022

The cream of the region’s sportspeople, volunteers, coaches and organisations have been named as finalists in the 2022 Ipswich Sports Awards.

Community, Culture, Arts and Sport Committee Chairperson Councillor Andrew Fechner said the quality and range of nominations for this year’s awards had been outstanding.

“The community has nominated an amazing group of sports people and teams for this year’s awards,” Cr Fechner said.

“Nominees have excelled in sports as varied as athletics, Australian rules football, baseball, BMX, cricket, cycling, football, hockey, karting, martial arts, netball, rugby league, rugby union, softball, swimming, trampoline and weightlifting.

“Importantly, these awards highlight the dedication and passion of all the volunteers, players, coaches and officials who contribute to our vibrant sporting community from the grass-root to representative level.

“Council is committed to supporting local sporting clubs and delivering high-quality facilities across the city as we prepare to welcome and nurture world-class athletes for the 2032 Olympics and Paralympics.”.

Winners of the 2022 Ipswich Sports Awards will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held on Friday 4 November at the North Ipswich Reserve Corporate Centre.

Tickets for the Awards Ceremony are now on sale and available from Ipswich Civic Centre - https://www.ipswichciviccentre.com.au/event/ipswich-sports-awards-2022/

2022 Ipswich Sports Award Finalists

Official of the Year – finalists:

  • Cameron Williams
  • Jordan Harton
  • Nicholas McEwan
  • Nicholas Rudzinski
  • Steve Rogers

Volunteer of the Year – finalists:

  • Amanda Hollis
  • Anne O’Donnell
  • Daniel Smith
  • Denis Tierney
  • Melissa Bell
  • Rita Langer
  • Scott Morrison
  • Scott Willoughby
  • Troy Schroder

Coach of the Year – finalists:

  • Blake Murray
  • Diane Sheppard
  • Ian Snodgrass
  • Jackson Solofa
  • Karine Harumi Moromizato
  • Lyndsey Campbell
  • Mark Sills

Masters Sportsperson of the Year – finalists:

  • Christopher Savage
  • Clay Dawson
  • Karine Harumi Moromizato
  • Stephen Sawyers
  • Steven Graham

Sporting Organisation of the Year – finalists:

  • Goodna Netball Association
  • Ipswich Basketball Association
  • Ipswich Hockey Association
  • Norths Tigers Juniors
  • Tigers Softball Club

Junior Sportsperson Award – finalists:

  • Blake Murray
  • Charlize Goody
  • Ethan Lee
  • Holyee-Ann Jackson
  • Kara Kaufusi
  • Rachel Kaufusi
  • Txai Anglin

Senior Sportsperson Award – finalists:

  • Carina Hagarty
  • Clay Dawson
  • Clem Smith
  • Jade Lally
  • Joshua Harding
  • Jude Thomas
  • Zac Profke

Team of the Year – finalists

  • Tigers Softball Mens A Team