Mayor lays out Ipswich priorities for Prime Minister

11 February 2022

Major infrastructure shortfalls, significant population growth, and resource recovery were top of the list when Ipswich Mayor Teresa Harding sat down with Prime Minister Scott Morrison and other senior members of Parliament this week.

The virtual Council of Mayors (SEQ) delegation focused on priority projects for Commonwealth investment, ahead of a looming Federal election.

“The two-day delegation presented an opportunity to outline Ipswich’s priority projects to both the government and opposition,” Mayor Harding said.

“Federal support is critical to ensure connectivity in nationally significant growth and freight corridors, with the Ipswich to Springfield Central Public Transport Corridor being one of those.

“This 25km corridor is integral to addressing a lack of public transport in Ipswich’s booming suburbs, such as Redbank Plains and Ripley, and will service 70 per cent of Ipswich's expected population growth.

In addition to the Ipswich to Springfield Central Public Transport Corridor, Ipswich’s priority projects for include:

  • the Ipswich Central Second River Crossing (Norman St Bridge),
  • Waste and Circular Economy Transformation,
  • the Ebenezer Regional Industrial Area,
  • the North Ipswich Sport and Entertainment Precinct,
  • and a range of Critical and Enabling Infrastructure including the planning and delivery of upgrades across the Cunningham, Warrego and Centenary Highways.

The delegation of mayors ensured the south-east remained a top priority for both major parties ahead of the upcoming election.

“The recurring themes for both sides of politics were around infrastructure, population growth, waste management, the SEQ City Deal and 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games,” Mayor Harding said.

“Council is advocating for more funding and collaborative outcomes for Ipswich, and getting the opportunity take our message directly to Canberra will be crucial in coming months.

“Ipswich’s current and future residents need and deserve support from all three levels of government to provide the transport, social, and economic infrastructure that will help to preserve and grow our opportunities.

“All levels of government must work together to deliver a bright future for Ipswich.”

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) met with government and opposition representatives including:

  • Hon Scott Morrison MP, Prime Minister of Australia and Minister for Public Service
  • Hon Paul Fletcher MP, Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts
  • Hon Scott Buchholz MP, Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Member for Wright
  • Hon Kevin Hogan MP, Assistant Minister for Local Government
  • Hon Trevor Evans MP, Assistant Minister for Waste Reduction
  • Hon Catherine King MP, Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Development
  • Hon Chris Bowen MP, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy
  • Hon Jason Clare MP, Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Regional Services, Territories and Local Government
  • Terri Butler MP, Shadow Minister for Environment and Water, and Josh Wilson, Shadow Assistant       Minister for the Environment
  • Dr Jim Chalmers MP, Shadow Treasurer
  • Mr Andrew Giles MP, Shadow Minister for Cities and Urban Infrastructure; Shadow Minister Assisting for Immigration and Citizenship, Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs.
  • Mr Ted O'Brien MP, PM Special Envoy for Olympics

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) represents the eleven councils and more than three million residents of South East Queensland. Its membership includes Brisbane, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Moreton Bay, Noosa, Redland, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba councils.