New bin days to improve waste collection for 23,800 residents

16 May 2023

Bin collection days will change for about 23,800 residents across 28 suburbs from Monday 5 June.

The move will ensure more consistent and efficient collection services through more evenly spread collection routes.

Growth, Infrastructure and Waste Committee Chair Mayor Teresa Harding said the changes were necessary as population growth impacts different parts of the city.

“Ipswich is Queensland’s fastest growing city and this means different suburbs of the city are growing at much faster rates than others,” Mayor Harding said.

“This unequal spread and the old bin collection timetable resulted in days with huge peak demand and this is not sustainable.

“This new timetable addresses the growing population clusters around the city and will allow Council waste collection services to operate more efficiently.

“On average, 135 new household wheelie bins are put out every week for collection and up to 30,000 bins are emptied each day in Ipswich.”

In the past 12 months, in addition to the new bin collection timetable, council has received the first 21 of 28 new collection vehicles ordered, with more orders to follow, as well as boosting its Resource Recovery staffing levels.

Growth, Infrastructure and Waste Committee Deputy Chairperson Councillor Paul Tully said council was doing everything it could to provide a reliable waste collection service.

“Council routinely recruits new drivers to decrease the impacts of a tight labour market, and this, along with our new vehicles, will help to make sure bin collection runs smoothly, ” Cr Tully said.

“I also encourage residents to use council’s Bin App as the best way to keep across any collection day changes, or by checking the Bin Collection Calendar on Ipswich City Council’s website.”

The day of collection and/or week of collection will change in the following suburbs:

Amberley, Augustine Heights, Basin Pocket, Brookwater, Collingwood Park, Dinmore, Eastern Heights, Ebbw Vale, Ebenezer, Goolman, Ironbark, Jeebropilly, Karrabin, Leichhardt, Mount Forbes, Mutdapilly, One Mile, Peak Crossing, Pine Mountain, Purga, Riverview, Silkstone, Spring Mountain, Springfield, West Ipswich, Willowbank, Wulkuraka north and south and Yamanto.

Affected residents will receive a letter in the mail detailing the change.

People can also check the new bin collection times on Bin Collection Calendar : Ipswich City Council or via Ipswich City Council’s Bin App.