Division 1 is the largest of the four divisions and amalgamates both rural and urban suburbs. The division covers a geographic catchment of 61,148 ha (611 km2) and is oriented in a east-west direction spanning from Grandchester and Mount Mort in the west to Redbank Plains and White Rock in the east.

The suburbs of Division 1 include Blackstone, Calvert, Deebing Heights, Ebenezer, Flinders View, Goolman, Grandchester, Jeebropilly, Lower Mount Walker, Mount Forbes, Mount Mort, Mount Walker West, Mutdapilly, Peak Crossing, Purga, Raceview, Redbank Plains, Ripley, South Ripley, Swanbank, White Rock, and Willowbank.

Community Matters - Catch up with your Councillors

Would you like to engage with your Councillors and discuss important issues in your area, provide feedback on projects and have your say regarding community engagement initiatives Council is undertaking? For a full list of Community Catch up dates and locations visit Community Matters.

Division 1 Councillors

Division 1 Councillor - Sheila Ireland

Cr Sheila Ireland

    Councillor Ireland is a proud fifth generation Ipswichian and part of the local Walker family who opened a coal mine in Ipswich in 1874. Educated at St Mary’s College; before coming to council she owned retail businesses in Ipswich City Square for 16 years. Cr Ireland has been on the boards of Apprenticeship Queensland and St Andrew’s Hospital, and chaired several committees during five previous terms on council between 2004–2018, most notably Health, Security and Regulatory Services.

    Councillor Jacob-Madsen

    Cr Jacob Madsen

      Councillor Madsen has lived his entire life in Ipswich, moving between the suburbs of North Ipswich, Wulkuraka, Walloon, Silkstone and Ripley, where he now lives with his family.

      Cr Madsen was elected to Ipswich City Council in 2020, and in March 2022 was appointed Deputy Mayor, becoming the youngest person to serve in this role in Ipswich’s history.

      Cr Madsen holds a Bachelors Degree in Commerce and the Arts, majoring in political science and accounting. He is a passionate trade unionist, dedicated to ensuring all Ipswich residents have access to fair and equitable working conditions.